A fundamental objective of Beneath the Underground is to explore the legacy of the Underground Railroad with the primary documents available at the Maryland State Archives. The purpose of this guide is to help website visitors understand the usefulness and history of the records mined for this project, as well as, to give insight into our research methodology. The core focus years of the Beneath the Underground study are 1830 to 1880.

LOSIM Credits

Generous Financial Support Provided by:

City of Annapolis
City of Bowie
C.V. Starr Center
The Dominion Foundation
Goucher College
Maryland Public Television
Morgan State University
National Historical Publications and Records Commission
National Parks Service Network to Freedom Program
US Department of Education Office of Post Secondary Education Underground Railroad Education and Cultural Program
Washington College

Program Director

Christopher Haley

Research Archivists

Krystal Appiah
David Armenti
Alex Champion
Ryan Cox
Maria Day
Jarrett Drake
Maya Davis
John Gartrell
Karen Hare
Millington Lockwood
Owen Lourie
Allison Seyler
Tanner Sparks


Kara Carter

Information Technology Programming & Support

John Ball
Nancy Bramucci Sheads
Matt Davis
Ashley Dyjack
Greg Lepore
Lowell Mitchell
Frank Patenude
Jason Richter
Nicole Saini
Mike Solkowski

Research Interns

Kevin Allor
Damika Baker
Antuian Bradford
Adelsia Braxton
Kenneth Bechtel
Jamal Booker
Simone Butler
Christine Cohn
Steven Colmus
Jennifer Copeland
Natalia Cuadra-Saez
Homer Fleetwood
Latasha Gatling
Genevieve Goerling
Tanya Hardy
Sandra Harney
Sarah Hartge
Emily Huebner
Daniel Ingham
Emily Johnson
Joni Jones
Kenneth Kirkwood
Laura Kopp
Brittni Landgraf
Tierra Langley
Desiree Lee
Ellen Loll
Alyssa Mack Amy Mapes
Lopez Matthews, Jr.
Megan Maxwell
Caleb McDaniel
Trisha McMaster
Megan Meyer
Andrea Miracle
Sarah Mugford
Aaron O'Neal
Karen Palmer
Jaffa Panken
Leslie Parker
Laura Reading
Athena Richardson
Dwayne Samuel
Christian Savage
Dana Sutton-Echols
Keith Swaney
Adam Tavel
Rhiannon Theurer
Alexis Thompson
Kathy Thornton
Charles Weisenberger III
Jennifer Wheeler


James Emmons
Jerry Hynson
Mary McCutchan
Henry Peden
Vernon Roberts
Trish Surles
Fran Webster

University of Maryland iSchool Digital Curation and Innovation Center Students and Staff

To learn more about the Digital Curation Innovation Center, visit the iSchool website.

  • {{ x.name + ' ' + x.lastname }}

Advisory Board

Ira Berlin
John Gartrell
Adam Goodheart
Jerry Hynson
Joni Jones
Cheryl LaRoche
Kate Larson
Jenny Masur
Phebe McPherson
Phillip Morgan
Anne Rubin
Eva Slezak
Clara Small
Lorena Walsh

With Additional Support by:

State Archivist
Timothy Baker
Edward C. Papenfuse

Deputy State Archivist
Elaine Rice-Bachmann

Director of Research and Educational Outreach
Emily Oland Squires

Deputy Director of Research and Educational Outreach
Jennifer Hafner

Past Director (2001-2004)
David Taft Terry